Lower 48 — Day 19

43 States

7,350 Miles

We rode only 270 miles today before we had overheating problems again. Unfortunately, we are stuck in Winslow Arizona. If you remember Glenn Frey and Jackson Browne co-wrote “Take it Easy”, which refers to Winslow.

The city has dedicated a street corner to their song “Take it Easy,” which was recorded by the Eagles in 1973. Over 100,000 people come to Winslow just to stand on a corner dedicated to that song. The lyrics referring to Winslow Arizona read:

“Well, I’m a standing on a corner in Winslow, Arizona and such a fine sight to see It’s a girl, my Lord, in a flatbed Ford slowin’ down to take a look at me”

Glenn Frey

I even had the song playing while taking the pictures. I’m also met a young couple from Italy who stopped to take pictures of the corner. I asked them if they like the Eagles and they said “yeah, suck good lyrics.” I read that many foreigners stop to take a picture of this corner.

I also met another cool couple who sold their home in Orange County California and bought a couple of buildings downtown to renovate. I didn’t get their names but if they read this blog please know I enjoyed talking with you and the suggestions for riding Route 66.

It was too hot to continue today so we got a room and will ride tonight when it’s cooler.

3 comments

    1. That sounds fun Amy. Rob I hope you can make it through the heat. It blows my mind that you keep getting vapor locks!

      Like

Leave a comment